What do you know about working in MO?
If you have a job in Missouri, there are state and federal laws that protect you.
Is that really all they have to pay me?
In Missouri, the minimum wage is $11.15 per hour. That means your employer has to pay you at least $11.15 for every hour that you work. If you earn tips, your employer can pay you a lower hourly wage, as long as your hourly wage plus your tips equals at least $11.15 hourly. Missouri employers may pay workers who get tips as little as $5.575 per hour. Need more info? Check out Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations at www.labor.mo.gov.
What if I work overtime?
If you work overtime usually your employer must pay you your regular pay plus ½ more for each hour you work over 40 hours in a week. Need more info? Check out Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial Relations.
Do I have to file a Tax Return with the IRS?
It depends on if you are considered a dependent, how much money you made, and what type of income you have received. Need more info? Check out https://www.thebalance.com/teens-and-income-taxes-2610240.
What if I want to go on vacation and need to miss work, will I still get paid?
In Missouri, your employer does not have to give you paid time off from work. You should check with your employer to find out what benefits, if any, are offered. Some employers offer paid time off for sick days, vacation days, and federal or state holidays (like Thanksgiving or Truman’s birthday).
What if I don’t think I am being treated fairly at work = discrimination?
In Missouri, if your employer has at least 6 employees your employer cannot treat you differently because of your race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy), national origin, age (ages 40-69), or disability. If you believe you are being discriminated against, you should report it to your employer. It is illegal for your employer to retaliate against you for reporting discrimination. Need help? Check out Missouri Commission on Human Rights.
What if I am being harassed at work?
Workplace harassment can sometimes be illegal. It is illegal for your supervisor to sexually harass you at work in Missouri. Sexual harassment usually involves unwanted advances or comments. If you believe you are being harassed, you should report it to your employer. It is illegal for your employer to retaliate against you for reporting sexual harassment. Need help? Check out Missouri Commission on Human Rights.
Can they really fire me for that?
Yes, most likely. Missouri is an “at-will” employment state. That means that your employer can fire you for almost any reason except for those reasons that are illegal under the law, but even then, your employer may still wrongfully fire you, you might just have a potential legal claim against your former employer.
If you think your employer has violated the law, you should call a lawyer to help you figure out what to do next to protect your rights.